Carnegie Hall at Moore’s Hill College
Through the efforts of John Collins Moore, a college called the Moores Hill Male and Female Collegiate Institute (later known as Moores Hill College) was founded in Moores Hill, Indiana and opened to students in 1856. John C. Moore was the son of Adam Moore who founded Moores Hill in the 1830s.
The college took on a unique educational role from the day it opened. It was first institution of higher education in Indiana (and one of the earliest in the nation) to admit both men and women for coeducational instruction. Because of fluctuating yearly attendance and consistent financial struggles, the college eventually moved west to form the University of Evansville in 1917.
Carnegie Hall became the main campus building upon completion of its construction in 1907. Following the move of the college to Evansville, Carnegie Hall and the rest of the campus was donated to the local public school system. Carnegie played host to grades one through twelve throughout the 20th century. Today, the structure serves the citizens of Moores Hill as a community center and was listed on the National Register in 1994.